Sloans started life as a coffee house in Morrisons Court, named after prominent Glasgow man Baillie John Morrison, back in 1797.
Our cobbled courtyard was also the scene of many famous cock-fighting contests, the sport of the day and twice a week, a stagecoach would leave the Court bound for Edinburgh. The journey lasted five hours and, for a fare of 9s, each passenger was allowed to take one canvas travelling bag.
David Sloan bought the venue, known as the Arcade Café at the turn of the 20th Century, and renamed it the Sloans Arcade Café before transforming it into an opulent venue with a lounge bar, several dining rooms, a cocktail bar, an aquarium and the jewel in the crown - the Grand Ballroom - a stunning space featuring a magnificent vaulted ceiling, period marble fireplace and intricate stained-glass windows.
Traditionally, couples would choose their engagement rings in the adjacent Argyll Arcade before celebrating in Sloans, often holding their engagement party and wedding reception in the Grand Ballroom.
Fast forward and Sloans is now owned by Oli Norman and Stephen White who took it over in 2006 and carried out a major restoration to bring the beloved venue back to its former glory.
The Grade A Llisted building's original features have all been lovingly restored including the ceramic tiled entrance, grand mahogany staircase, rich woodwork, rare acid-etched glass and ceilings heavily decorated with plaster mouldings with gilt edging and detail.
The courtyard is now a quirky fairy lit beer garden that is open all year round and the Grand Ballroom is home to the weekly Friday Night Ceilidh - in addition to hosting weddings, celebrations and events.
For a guided tour of Sloans please feel free to come into the bar or pre-arrange by phoning us on 0141 221 8886.